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FULL-TIME PEACE OFFICERS - FACT SHEET

Appointment of municipal police officers:
The authority for appointment of municipal police officers is found in TITLE 11, SECTION 34-101, of the OKLAHOMA
STATUTES.

Appointment of county deputy officers:
The authority for appointment of county deputy officers is found in TITLE 19, SECTION 547, of the OKLAHOMA STATUTES.

Standards for training and certification of  peace officers:
Title 70, Section 3311, of the Oklahoma Statutes establishes minimum standards for the training and certification of  peace
officers.  The Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) derives its authority from this statute.

Examination required for certification:
Effective November 1, 2004, every person who has not been certified as a police or peace officer shall hold such position on
a temporary basis only, and shall, within six (6) months from the date of appointment or taking office, satisfactorily complete
a CLEET approved certification course and satisfactorily complete all practicum work and pass all written examinations required
for certification.

Requirements for attending training:
In order to attend CLEET approved certification training,  officers must meet, as a minimum, the following conditions:

1. Be at least 21 years of age prior to certification as a peace officer.
2. Must be a United States citizen or in resident alien status, as defined by U.S. Immigration & Naturalization Service. 
3. Must be a high school graduate or have GED certificate.  (Minimum requirements)
4. Must not have been convicted in state or federal court for any felony, crime of moral turpitude, or a crime of domestic

violence.
5. Must have fingerprint clearance from Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.
6. Must have been administered an approved psychological examination and had same evaluated by a state licensed

psychologist, and have an original affidavit from the psychologist attesting to the officer's suitability for "employment as
a peace officer."

7. Must be commissioned or appointed by employing agency prior to attending CLEET approved certification training.
8. Must not have been involuntarily committed to an Oklahoma state mental institution.
9. Must meet physical fitness requirements for academy attendance and certification as mandated in CLEET rules.
10. Must submit all required documentation and enrollment materials.

Prohibited Affiliation: Title 47, Section 956(C) of the Oklahoma State Statutes states “An officer of the Department of Public
Safety or a law enforcement officer of any political subdivision may have an interest, financial or otherwise, in or may be
employed by a wrecker or towing service when the sole purpose and only business of the wrecker or towing service is to
perform repossessions of vehicles which are subject to lien and are being repossessed by the lien holder of record.” 

Workmen's Compensation Insurance:
Peace officers must be covered by Workmen's Compensation Insurance as required under Title 85, Section 3 of Oklahoma
Statutes.

Hours per calendar week:
Full-time peace officer is defined as a salaried officer working more than 25 hours per calendar week as stated in Title 70,
Section 3311, et al, of the Oklahoma Statutes.

Authority of  Peace Officer while off-duty:
Off duty peace officers, with specific authority from the employing agency, may be permitted to carry off-duty weapons.
Authority is found in Title 21, Section 1289.23, of the Oklahoma Statutes.  If such authority is granted, it must meet
requirements of this section.  Counties and municipalities may choose not to permit off-duty weapon status.
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Agreement - requirements of Title 70, Section 3311:
Peace officers attending CLEET approved certification training must agree to do so under requirements of Title 70, Section
3311, of the Oklahoma Statutes, and the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) Administrative Rules
and Regulations governing the  Certification Program.

Approval of academy:
CLEET conducts academy or certification training.  CLEET also issues approval for academies to be conducted by agencies
meeting minimum standards for the conduct of such academies, including, but not limited to: curriculum, facility, academy
coordinator, instructors and scheduling.

Authority "employed":
The authority of a peace officer exists only when the officer is "employed" by a law enforcement agency.  If the officer leaves
the agency, for any reason, the officer has no authority beyond that of a private citizen.  The  officer's certification with the State
of Oklahoma remains valid, unless revoked, suspended, or the  officer is de-certified, as provided for under Title 70, Section
3311, and or, the administrative rules and regulations of CLEET.

Training requirements beyond certification:
Oklahoma peace officers are mandated to receive a minimum of 25 hours of continuing education annually; at least two hours
of which must be a topic related to recognizing and handling the mentally ill.  The employing agency may also mandate training
requirements for their officers.

Effective January 1, 2008, each officer must meet minimum standards for firearms requalification annually.  Such requalification
will be reported to the Council on a specific form designated by CLEET. 

DISQUALIFICATIONS

Oklahoma State Statute Title 70 and Attorney General's Opinion 84-101 prohibits any individual who has ever been convicted
of a felony crime from becoming a commissioned peace officer, for that individual is not authorized to carry a firearm.

It is unlawful for any person to willfully make any statement in an application to CLEET knowing the statement is false or
intentionally commit fraud in any application to the Council for attendance in any CLEET-conducted or CLEET-approved peace
officer academy or program.  Violation of this statute is a felony punishable by imprisonment in the Department of Corrections
for a term of not less than two (2) years nor more than five (5) years, or by a fine not exceeding Two Thousand Dollars
($2,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.

No person who has had a police or peace officer certification from another state revoked or voluntarily surrendered shall be
considered for certification by CLEET within five (5) years of the effective date of any such revocation or voluntary surrender
of certification.

FEDERAL DOMESTIC VIOLENCE FIREARM LEGISLATION

The Gun Control Act makes it unlawful for a person who is the subject of a qualifying protection order to possess or receive
firearms or ammunition (section 922(g)(8) of the Gun Control Act).  Under the ATF’s interpretation of the Official Use Exception,
this provision does not apply to persons “performing official duties on behalf of a Federal, State or local law enforcement
agency.”    The ATF says that if officers are “authorized or required to carry their service weapon at all times, the exception
applies to their service weapon at all times.”  “The exception does not apply for officers who are ‘off-duty’ at the end of a shift,
and are not authorized by statute, regulation, or official department policy to possess their duty weapons for the purpose of
performing official duties.”

NOTE:  The FULL-TIME PEACE OFFICERS - FACT SHEET is designed to provide information and answers to the most
frequently asked questions regarding the Oklahoma Statutes governing the "employment" and certification requirements for
peace officers.  It is not intended to include all information or address specific local issues.

Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training in Oklahoma
City, (405) 239-5100, or from a CLEET Field Representative.
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