STATE OF OKLAHOMA
COUNCIL ON LAW ENFORCEMENT EDUCATION AND TRAINING

NEWSLETTER FOR LICENSED AGENCIES

October, 2007
Dear Agency Owner:

The purpose of this newsletter is to inform you of changes related to the Private Security Act.

| would encourage all of you to check our web site at www.cleet.state.ok.us periodically for updates
related to licensing. The two menu items on the left side of the page of particular interest for your
profession would be the topics Rules and Security/Investigator. Click on the menu item to view more
information.

Reminder of current address:

Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET)

2401 Egypt Road

Ada, Oklahoma 74820-0669 (Visit our web site at www.cleet.state.ok.us for a map to the facility)

Licensing Main Number: (405) 239-5110
Fax: (405) 239-5182
For questions regarding licensing contact the main licensing number: (405) 239-5110
For questions regarding course accreditation or training contact: Sandy Hall (405) 239-5112
For questions regarding rules, statutes or complaints contact: Steven Collins  (405) 239-5114

Legislative Changes Effective November 1, 2007

SB920 passed last legislative session that changed the Oklahoma Security Guard and Private
Investigator Act. Full text of Title 59 legislation may be found on the Oklahoma State Courts Network
(OSCN) web site at: http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/start.asp?viewType=LIBRARY.
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Go to the web site:

1, Select Oklahoma Statutes Citationized item, click your mouse on this item to open all Titles
Scroll down until you see

Title 59. Professions and Occupations
Click on Expand

Scroll down the page to:

Chapter 42A - Oklahoma Security Guard and Private Investigator Act

§ 1750.1. Short Title ending § 1750.11

At this site you will be able to read the entire statute. Substantial changes that will become effective
November 1, 2007, are summarized below:

Expand Search

w

59 0O.S. § 1750.2 (7)(b)(4) adds an additional exemption for active, full-time certified peace officers from
having to have an individual license to work as a security guard or private investigator. The new
language exempts a full-time certified peace officer:
(4) who receives compensation from an employer-employee relationship or an individual
independent contractor basis with any licensed security agency as defined in this section or any
private business or person to perform security or investigative services,

59 O.S. § 1750.3(B)(4)(a) changes the reporting period for mandate training from a yearly requirement
to licensing period. Licensees whose license expire on or after November 1, 2007, will provide proof of
mandate training for the licensing period:
16 hours of approved training during the licensing period required for private investigators
8 hours of approved training during the licensing period required for security guards

59 O.S. § 1750.3(B)(4)(c) designates the Private Security Advisory Committee to assist the Council in
establishing criteria for mandated continuing education requirements.

59 O.S. § 1750.5(C)(2) removes the requirement that applicants for an Armed Private Investigator
License have to attend Phase Il or Security Guard Training. It also provides that active certified peace
officers be charged twenty percent (20%) of the required fee for an armed security guard or armed
private investigator license.

59 0.S. § 1750.6(B)(1)(a) provides that active certified peace officers be charged twenty percent (20%)
to renew an armed security guard or armed private investigator license. It also provides a partial refund
for individuals or agencies who do not qualify for a license or renewal license. CLEET is authorized to
retain 20% of the licensing fee as a processing fee and refund the remaining amount. The individual
license fee paid by a licensed agency will be refunded to the agency. Refunds will not be made if a
conditional license has been issued.

I Note: 59 O.S. § 1750.6(B)(1)(b) requires applicants to submit a nonrefundable fee for a
national criminal history record with fingerprint analysis.

Type of License Original Non- Total Cost of|] Amount of License
License Fee* | refundable a New Original Refundable
Fingerprint License License Fee Amount
Analysis Fee retained by | Original and
for New CLEET Renewal
License License
Security Guard-Unarmed $25) $41 $66) $5 $20
Security Guard-Armed $50, $41 $91 $10 $40
Private Investigator-Unarmed $25) $41 $66) $5 $20
Private Investigator-Armed $75 $41 $116 $15 $60
Combination License $75 $41 $116 $15 $60
Agency License $200, $0 $200 $40 $160
School Approval Certificate $300 $0 $300, $60) $240
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*The original and renewal license fee is the same. The difference is the Fingerprint Analysis Fee
required for a new license application or start-over application is included in the total cost of the new
license.

59 O.S. § 1750.10(B) provides for a partial refundable fee if a school does not quality for a certificate or
renewal certificate.

Rule Changes: The complete text of current rules may be found on our website under the menu item
Rules. The significant rule changes promulgated this year are as follows:

390:35-5-2 changed the reporting period for mandate training from each year to licensing period and
describes the disciplinary procedure for failure to obtain training.

390:35-5-9 eliminated the requirement for the identification card to be laminated in plastic, to allow use
of plastic cards such as credit card materials in the future.

390:35-15-2 corrected the name of the Oklahoma Board of Private Vocational Schools and added ‘if a
fee is charged” to the provision requiring schools to separately charge for courses required for licensing
purposes.

Number of Individual Licenses as of October 2, 2007
4,467 Armed Security Guard Licenses
3,483 Unarmed Security Guard Licenses
143 Armed Private Investigator Licenses
352 Unarmed Private Investigator Licenses
739 Combination Armed Guard and Investigator

Delays in Licensing: Upon conducting an internal audit of applications, the most frequent causes for
delays in processing individual licenses include the following:

1. Failure to have signature notarized in the application

2. Incomplete application information (past address information, employment history)

3 Failure to provide local police department and sheriff department records checks from
city and county of residence

4. Incomplete criminal history information. All arrests must be listed regardless of
disposition. Arrests will be reported on State and Federal record returns at which time
the individual will be required to provide official copies of court disposition of arrests so
that CLEET can determine eligibility. An arrest may not be disqualifying if the charge is
reduced or dismissed, however failure to report the arrest is subject to disciplinary action.

iwRequest for Information: Please submit current photographs of your agency uniform, badge and
vehicle used in security patrol.

Most Frequent Complaints:
Failure to report employment or terminations within 5 working days: OAC Rule 390:35-11-2 requires
licensed agencies to report employments and terminations within five (5) days of the employment or
termination of the employee.

Agencies cannot work an individual until a license has been issued by CLEET (59 O.S. 1750.4). You
cannot put an individual to work because you have put the application in the mail. Because individuals
must provide proof of insurance or bond with their application, agencies may submit a report of
employment dated the date of the application, but may not work the individual until authorization is
received from CLEET.
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Unlicensed Activity: CLEET will be increasing it's attention in this area because of the increase in
complaints and evidence received in new applications revealing that an individual has worked for a
period of time without a license.

Compliance: CLEET received funding for a full-time investigator and this individual will begin making
agency and individual post inspections. He will request to see your agency license, proof of insurance,
payroll and shift reports, a copy of your business cards or letterhead, and require access to agency
employee files. Please be reminded to have your agency license posted and a copy of the individual’s
license in the employee file. Random post inspections will be made across the state to look for
unlicensed activity and violations such as possession of the CLEET license, ammunition violations
(reloaded ammunition is not allowed), vehicle markings, etc.

Firearm Violations
Discharge of Firearm: 58.2% of licensees are authorized to carry a firearm. As this number has
increased, we have seen a rise in the number of firearms related incidents.

Reporting Discharge: Please be reminded that the discharge of a firearm by a licensee must be
reported to CLEET by phone immediately during normal working hours, or the next working day.
Licensees are also required to complete a written report.

State laws regulate the carrying and use of weapons, particularly Title 21, Sections 1271.1 to 1290.26.
You can view the laws on the website listed (on page 1 of this document) for the Oklahoma State
Courts Network (OSCN). Follow the instructions listed on page 2, selecting Title 21 instead of Title 59.
(You should seek legal advise from your attorney if you have questions regarding the firearms laws.)

There are no provisions for a security officer to be armed inside of a bar or club (1272.1). It is unlawful
to point a deadly weapon, whether loaded or not, at any person or persons for the purpose of
threatening or firing a “warning” shot (1289.16).

Deadly force must be an absolute last resort. While a public police officer may have an obligation to
“stand his ground”, a security officer or private investigator may not and should exhaust all options,
including retreating to safety, before using deadly force.

Carrying Weapons: The authority for security guards and private investigators to carry a firearm is in
Title 59.

Security officers are limited to carrying firearms only when “on duty”. During “off-duty” periods (such as
lunch, coffee breaks, driving to and from work) security officers face the same restrictions on carrying
firearms as all other citizens. We have received complaints of security officers wearing their firearms
while eating lunch or dinner at restaurants and fast-food places.

Licensed armed private investigators are authorized under O.S. Title 59, § 1750.5C to carry “a
concealed firearm when on and off duty, providing the person keeps the firearm concealed from view
and is in possession of a valid driver license and valid armed private investigator license”.

No Authority for Bounty Hunters: Several incidents have been reported to CLEET of Bounty Hunters
using the Armed Private Investigator License or combination license to carry a firearm while performing
bounty hunting duties (forceful entry, detaining individuals, etc.) The extent of the licenses issued by
CLEET would allow the lawful gathering of information, surveillance, etc., but stops at the point of
forceful entry, removing an individual from a premise, or using the Armed Private Investigator’s license
as a permit to carry a firearm during this activity.
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Important Notice for Individual License Renewal: State Law, Title 68 §238.1 requires that state
license holders be in compliance with state income tax laws prior to having their license renewed.
CLEET is required to notify the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) when an application for renewal is

received.

If a licensee is not in compliance with State Law, OTC will notify CLEET and we cannot renew

the individual license until the individual has contacted the Oklahoma Tax Commission for a resolution.
OTC will send a letter of Compliance to CLEET, and the licensee will be allowed to renew. Questions
concerning this requirement should be directed to the OTC, Professional Licensing Compliance Unit, at

(405) 522-6800.

Continuing Education Required for Licensing

Licensees may view
on-line continuing
education courses on
CLEET’s web site at:
www.cleet.state.ok.us
for no charge. This
training will count
towards the annual
mandated training
requirement.

On the web site click
on the left menu item
Continuing Education.
Scroll to the bottom
of the page to login
for the on-line
courses. You will
have to follow the
instructions for the first
time to establish a
login.

CE courses are
restricted to law
enforcement only at
this time.

Continuing Education
Continuing Education (CE) hours can be obtained through several sources including:

2 Continuing Education - Microsoft Internet Explorer.
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CLEET ONLINE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES

(Update: All courses, except for NIMS, have been updated to be viewable using Internet
Explorer 7. If you experience any difficulty. please refer to this link. NIMS may still work

Macromedia Flash Player
isneeded for all anline olasses

Bird Flu & Pandemic Influenza Preparedness - 1Hour

on Internet Explorer 7.)

QuickTime

QuickTime Wiewer is needed far
National Incident Management System class

Contact Us | About CLEET |

Heavy Eguipment ldentification - 1 Hour

Consular Motification - 1 Hour

Death Motification - 1 Hour
Mental Health Credit- 1 Hour

Digital Drivers License - 1 Hour

Mational Incident Management System - 3 Hours

nterpersonal Cormrmunications - 1 Hour

Stalking & Mental Health Issues - 1 Hour

Mental Health Credit- 1 Hour

Electronic and Projectile Weapons - 2 Hours

User Login - CE Courses |

5 Start

Frlday Oct. 26th, 10:30 &M,

1. College hours (15 training hours per college credit)

2. Training through Approved entities, such as county, state, federal associations. Examples are:
Oklahoma Medical Association, Oklahoma Department of Mental Health, American Red Cross,
Indigent Defense, Oklahoma Bar Association, District Attorney's Association, American Society of
Industrial Security (ASIS), American Association of Fraud Investigators, National Association of
Legal Investigators, Arson Investigator's Association.

3. Related courses conducted by Career Technology Centers, Nationally & Internationally recognized

Associations, private schools, Oklahoma Private Investigator's Association (OPIA); and

4. All other training approved by CLEET. For approval to conduct training, sponsors must:

Continuing Education ...

0 Internet

=
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a. Submit a written request for program accreditation to CLEET (Instructions and forms are
available on our web site.)

b. Provide course outline, and course objectives;
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c. Provide Resume for Instructors; and
d. After training, submit a roster of attendees, including, social security numbers, course title,
date(s)of training, location, training hours, and instructor, to CLEET.

(Accredited courses approved by CLEET are valid for a period of one-year.)

Costs for the training are the responsibility of the individual. Several security agencies have indicated
they will obtain approval to conduct training for little or no cost to their employees.

Firearms re-qualification does not count towards mandate continuing education, however firearms
training with legal update, etc., would count.

Completion of training courses required for initial licensing (Phase | - IV) will satisfy the continuing
education requirements for the first licensing period of an initial license.

Check the CLEET web site under the left menu item Security/Investigator. Select this item on this web
page and you will find a listing under Approved Guard and Investigator Continuing Education Courses of
the courses that have been accredited.

Reorganization, New Projects

Last year, CLEET collapsed management and eliminated the Supervisor Position in the Private Security
Division. The supervisor duties were assigned to me. | have supervised the division in the past and
previously served on the Board of the International Association of Security and Investigator Regulators.

Director Nelson obtained additional funding in FY-2008 for a full-time investigator. With the
reorganization and new funding, we will have three licensing clerks, one investigator, one project
specialist (School coordinator) and one attorney, dedicated to the activities of the division.

Mr. Tom Baty, our Information Systems Manager, and | are working to implement on-line payments
hopefully in 4-6 months from now. We are also working on electronic submission of
employment/termination notices, address changes, and training rosters.

We are working with law enforcement to discuss Cooperative Efforts between the public and private
sectors, with a goal of some cross training and information sharing. Please watch the web-site for new
developments!

We look forward to the challenges ahead of us and appreciate your understanding and support as we
struggled with staffing issues. If you have any questions or require additional information, please do not
hesitate to contact us at the numbers listed on the first page of this newsletter.

You may also reach me via e-mail at: jingram@cleet.state.ok.us with your comments or suggestions.

Respectfully,

Jeanie Nelson, Director

By: Janet Ingram, Business Manager

This publication is issued by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training. A total of 440 copies have been prepared and
distributed at a cost of $ 367.84. Copies have been deposited with the Publications Clearinghouse of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries
and published on the CLEET web site at www.cleet.state.ok.us.
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